Giving to my BFF’s

Hi all,

It’s been awhile since I shared anything… not a well woman these days… but thinking positively I have been a little busy also…

At 52, I have 2 women in my life that I can truly call my best friends… the first, Carrol, I have known for 21 years this May… the second, Lyn, I have known for 15 years also this May… I met both of them in different towns at different stages of my life. Carrol I met in a western Queensland town called Quilpie (beautiful opal country) and Lyn I met right here in Toowoomba.

Carrol loves Sunflowers, Lyn loves Blue Wrens and I love Butterflies. Besides doting on our grandchildren nothing give us… well me anyway 😀 … more joy than to give each other gifts of the thing they love the most… I make theirs of course…

Last Nov (2015) Lyn turned 55 so I made her a friendship quilt with 2 Blue Wren in the centre (male & female) and they were surrounded by embroidered friendship quotes, she loved it… and I hear she won’t even share it with her hubby on cold nights hehe…

IMG_0835

Now, Carrol will be 60 this May (2016) so I searched Google using,”crochet sunflower patterns free”, and found this sunflower hexagon idea from Zelna at zootyowlcards.blogspot.com who in turn referenced her creation to FIONA so then I searched Google again using, “crochet hexagon pattern free” to put with the Sunflower ones, I found this one… crafts.tutsplus.com and the end result is this Lap-ghan I have finally finished for Carrol’s birthday present… I intend to add a few other little things to the box like a Sunflower Potholder I’ve half finished from a pattern I bought off Ravelry “The Crocodile Flower” by Joyce Lewis, and some Sunflower Coasters and a couple of hand-towels I found.

Anyway I just wanted to share my finished lap-ghan I’ve named “Sunshine & Cream”. I hope you all like it as much as I do (I love the honeycomb effect) and I hope Carrol will too.

Thanks for reading my long winded post 😛  I wish you all – Love & Happiness; Peace & Harmony in everything you do… xo

13 thoughts on “Giving to my BFF’s

    • Thanks but which blanket are you referring to Lesley?
      If it’s the crocheted Sunflower one I can help out as I put links to the sites where I got the different patterns from in the my blog under the pictures.
      If it’s the Fairy Wren friendship quilt I purchased the wren applique pattern at The Toowoomba Carnival of Flowers Quilting Exhibition and I got the friendship quotes from a quilting magazine I purchased at the Newsagents a few years ago so sorry I can’t help any more than that due to copy-write.

      Like

  1. Hi, your friends are very lucky to have someone make them these absolutely beautiful gifts. I’m sure they will treasure them for years to come. I just love to crochet but it doesn’t always come easy for me to follow a pattern. My daughter Kate loves the shark slippers and I would just love to make them for her. I’m having trouble however finding a pattern as she has size 9/10 feet. Any way you can help me with this?

    Like

    • have a go at adjusting the pattern using my “gauge” in my post Shark Slipper for other sizes… these are made to Ollie’s foot measurements not a shoe size… if you take the measurements in the same places and use the gauge you should be able to work it out… it’s just maths and trial & error really 😀 hope all works out… cheers

      Like

  2. Hope you are feeling better. Anyway my question is about your shark shippers. How would I go about making them larger for my 10 year old grandson.

    Like

    • Thank you for caring… I am as well as can be expected while trying to stay positive… to make the shark slippers for your grandson use his foot measurement and follow the gauge I outlined in my blog post titled “Shark slippers for other sizes”… hope this helps…

      Like

  3. I see the sunflower sites you used for the lap-ghan. But have you put one pattern together for it? I’m new at this, so it’d be easier from 1 pattern.

    Like

    • hi,
      sorry no I just winged it… the hexagons turn out to be roughly 6cm across from flat to flat so it’s approx 48cm x 66cm without the fill-ins and edging…
      it depends on how big you want it as to how many hexagons you need… I could probably put together 1 pattern for this EXACT lapghan if that’s the size you want… but probably won’t get it post here until late Monday 3/10/16 or early Tuesday 4/10/16 as I have other commitments between now & then sorry…

      Like

    • I’m sorry… it’s seems Zootyowl is having troubles with her blog… luckily I have the flower motif pattern written out 😛
      this first is UK terms the second is US terms… hope this helps…
      Sunflower Hexagons
      You need:
      5.50mm hook
      8ply yarn-
      (CB) chocolate brown – centre
      (CY) canary yellow – petals
      (C) cream – background
      ** UK TERMS **
      PATTERN
      Centre (CB):
      Make a magic ring.
      R1: Ch 3 (counts as 1st tr), 11 tr in ring, close ring, slst to top of beg ch to join (12)
      R2: (Because of the uneven edge, it may be helpful to mark the beg of ea R with a stitch marker) ch, turn, (WS), dtr in same st, (dc, dtr) in ea of next 11 tr, slst in 1st dc (12)
      R3: ch, (dc, dtr, dc) in same st, skip all dtr in this round, (dc, dtr, dc) in ea of next 11 dc, slst in 1st dc (12)
      Petals (CY):

      R1: Join between 2 bobbles, dc, ch2, dtr, ch3, slst in 3rd ch from hook, dtr, ch3, slst all in same space (makes a petal), ch, continue all the way around placing petals to the left of ea bobble st, ch between ea petal. (12)
      R2: slst join CY in ch between petals, *dc, ch2, dtr, ch3, slst in 3rd ch from hook, dtr, ch3, slst all in the ch*, ch3 behind 1st R petal, rep *-* all the way around, ch3 between ea petal. Fasten off. (12)
      Background (C):
      R1: (RS): slst join yarn in ch4sp between clusters, 3ch (counts as tr), 2tr, 2ch, 3tr in same 4chsp as join *ch, 3tr in next ch4sp, ch, 3tr, 2ch, 3tr (= corner)*, rep *-* around, slst to close.

      *** US TERMS ***
      PATTERN
      Center (CB):
      Make a magic ring.
      R1: Ch 3 (counts as 1st dc), 11 dc in ring, close ring, slst to top of beg ch to join (12)
      R2: (Because of the uneven edge, it may be helpful to mark the beg of ea R with a stitch marker) ch, turn, (WS), tr in same st, (sc, tr) in ea of next 11 dc, slst in 1st sc (12)
      R3: ch, (sc, tr, sc) in same st, skip all tr in this round, (sc, tr, sc) in ea of next 11 sc, slst in 1st sc (12)
      Petals (CY):

      R1: Join between 2 bobbles, sc, ch2, tr, ch3, slst in 3rd ch from hook, tr, ch3, slst all in same space (makes a petal), ch, continue all the way around placing petals to the left of ea bobble st, ch between ea petal. (12)
      R2: slst join CY in ch between petals, *sc, ch2, tr, ch3, slst in 3rd ch from hook, tr, ch3, slst all in the ch*, ch3 behind 1st R petal, rep *-* all the way around, ch3 between ea petal. Fasten off. (12)
      Background (C):
      R1: (RS): slst join yarn in ch4sp between clusters, 3ch (counts as dc), 2dc, 2ch, 3dc in same ch4sp as join *ch, 3dc in next ch4sp, ch, 3dc, 2ch, 3dc (= corner)*, rep *-* around, slst to close.

      Like

Leave a Reply

